Qualifying Announced to Replace Jeffares, Strickland in General Assembly

Staff Report From Georgia CEO

Wednesday, December 6th, 2017

Secretary of State Brian Kemp will hold qualifying on Wednesday, December 6, 2017 through Friday, December 8, 2017 to fill the seats vacated by Rick Jeffares in State Senate District 17 and Brian Strickland in State House District 111. The special election to fill their unexpired terms will be held on January 9, 2018. A run-off election, if needed, will be held on February 6, 2018.

Qualifying will be held in the Secretary of State’s Elections Division on Wednesday, December 6, 2017 beginning at 9:00 a.m. and ending at 5:00 p.m.; Thursday, December 7, 2017 beginning at 9:00 a.m. and ending at 5:00 p.m.; and Friday, December 8, 2017 beginning at 9:00 a.m. and ending at 1:00 p.m. The Elections Division is located at 2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive SE, 802 West Tower, Atlanta, Georgia 30334. The qualifying fee is $400.00 to qualify for either seat. You can pay the fee with a debit card, credit card, check, or money order. The office does not accept cash.

After qualifying, you can find a complete list of candidates running for these seats on the Secretary of State’s website.

Monday, December 11, 2017 is the last day to register to vote for all persons who are not registered to vote and who desire to vote in the special election. Advance in-person voting will begin on Monday, December 18, 2017. The polls will also be open on Saturday, December 30, 2017.

State Senate District 17 covers parts of Henry, Newton, and Rockdale counties. State House District 111 covers parts of Henry County.