GBA Elects and Installs Officers and Eight Directors to its Board

Staff Report From Georgia CEO

Friday, June 29th, 2018

Members of the Georgia Bankers Association have elected and installed officers and eight new members to its board of directors for the 2018-2019 fiscal year.

John F. Hall, president and CEO of American Pride Bank, Macon, was installed as the 129th Chairman of the Georgia Bankers Association. Members elected Chuck Copeland, president and CEO, First National Bank of Griffin, as Chairman Elect and Spence Mullis, president and CEO, Morris Bank, Dublin, as Vice Chairman.
“It’s an honor to have been elected by my peers to serve as GBA Chairman,” Hall said. “I love this industry and enjoy helping those in the communities we serve – that is what it is all about to me. It is my hope that I can use my passion for banking to help further our organization at a time when the economy is going strong and banks across Georgia are prospering.”
In addition, eight new board members representing the association’s geographic divisions have been elected by their peers or appointed to At Large positions to begin their terms:
Group 1: Maury Beasley, president and CEO, The Bank of Soperton

Group 5: David Coxon, president and CEO, Georgia Primary Bank, Atlanta

Group 7: Ford Thigpen, president and CEO, Westside Bank, Hiram

Group 9: Monty Watson, chairman and CEO, The Piedmont Bank, Norcross

At-Large: Tim Perry, president and CEO, Citizens Bank of Forsyth County, Cumming

At-Large: Cynthia Day, president and CEO, Citizens Trust Bank, Atlanta

Beginning a two-year term as Associate Member Representative to the Board is Ron Mitchell, Mauldin and Jenkins, Albany.

Keith Anthony, senior vice president, Planters and Citizens Bank, Forsyth, and president of the Leadership GBA Executive Committee, is that group’s representative.