Columbia County hosting the NJCAA Division 1 Women’s Soccer National Championship

Staff Report

Thursday, November 10th, 2022

Columbia County, GA and the Columbia County Convention and Visitors Bureau are thrilled to welcome the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Division 1 Women’s Soccer National Championship November 13-19, 2022 at Blanchard Woods Park.

This is the fourth collegiate soccer national championship that Columbia County has hosted since the summer of 2021. The 2022 edition features 12 teams from across the country – 8 District Champions and 4 At-Large Berths. In all, 350 student-athletes are expected to travel to Columbia County to compete for the right to be crowned a National Champion.

“We are looking forward to hosting the teams, coaches and officials in Columbia County,” said Director of Community Services John Luton. “Our staff has put in a tremendous amount of work and we are excited to once again host the NJCAA National Championship and show everyone what Columbia County has to offer.”

“We are thrilled to welcome the NJCAA Women’s Division 1 Soccer Championship to Columbia County,” said Shelly Blackburn, Executive Director of the Columbia County Convention and Visitors Bureau. “Many of our local hospitality businesses are equally as excited as they rely heavily on the visitors that sporting events bring to the county. We are anticipating over 500 visitors from around the country coming to Columbia County. They will be staying in our hotels, eating in our restaurants and shopping in our retail establishment. We estimate the total economic impact for the events to be over $800K.”

Tickets are available for purchase online or at the gate. Daily passes are available for $10 each day or fans can purchase a $40 weekly all-tournament pass that will get them into all 5 days of the competition. Tickets can be purchased at

The following teams have qualified for the 2022 NJCAA Division 1 Women’s Soccer National Championship.

Barton Community College (KS)

Butler Community College (KS)*

Eastern Florida State College*

Hill College (TX)

Iowa Western Community College*

Laramie County Community College (WY)*

Monroe Community College (NY)*

Motlow State Community College (TN)

Polk State College (FL)

Salt Lake Community College (UT)*

11. Seminole State College (OK)* 12. Tyler Junior College (TX)*

*2020-21 NJCAA participant in Columbia County

Eastern Florida State is the defending National Champion. They defeated Tyler (TX) 1-0 last November to win their first women’s soccer national championship in program history.