Paceline to Award 2022 Fundraising Dollars to Georgia Cancer Center

Staff Report

Tuesday, January 24th, 2023

Local non-profit Paceline is presenting a check to the Georgia Cancer Center (GCC) from its 2022 fundraising season. A 25% participation increase over 2021 saw more than 400 people ride their bicycles in Paceline’s signature annual Fall event, PaceDay. With further support from community and corporate partners, Paceline raised 20% more funds than 2021 for innovative cancer research – the most in any year since Paceline’s first event in 2019.

Paceline will be presenting a check for approximately $400,000 (final total will be announced at the ceremony), bringing the cumulative total raised since being founded in 2018 to well over $1 million dollars. Specific grant award winners from 2022 funds will be announced later this Spring. Researchers who have already benefited from Paceline funding will also be in attendance.

The Paceline community has funded thirteen innovative cancer research projects, from cancer prevention to advancing treatments for multiple types of cancer (as well as addressing racial disparities). 100% of all participant-raised dollars supports research at the GCC thanks to the operational funding by the MCG Foundation and Corporate Partners including Georgia Power, Southern Nuclear, and Synovus Bank.

Paceline will also celebrate and recognize outstanding participants from PaceDay; awards include Top Fundraiser, Top Team, Top Volunteer, Rookie of the Year, and more.

WHAT: Check presentation to Georgia Cancer Center and awards ceremony

WHEN: Thursday, January 26, 2023, 5:30 p.m. - 7:00 p.m.

WHERE: Georgia Cancer Center - M. Bert Storey Research Building, Knox Foundation Room
1410 Laney Walker Boulevard, Augusta, GA 30912

WHO: Notable attendees who will be available for interview:

Dr. Jorge Cortes, Director of the Georgia Cancer Center
Dag Grantham, Paceline Founder
Martyn Jones, Paceline President
Ian Mercier, Director of the Medical College of Georgia Foundation
GCC Cancer Researchers who are previous Paceline grant winners, including:
Dr. Dimitrios Moskofidis
Dr. Malcolm Bevel
Dr. Nahid Mivechi
Dr. Yukai He
Dr. Tianxiang Hu
Paceline participants who are award nominees and winners